A God Encounter

God is willing to encounter us in the simplest yet most profound ways. I am a witness.

It was a breezy Friday in Redding, the last Friday in September. A friend and I went for a walk at this beautiful ranch to process. The last week had been challenging in more ways than one. We’d both faced disappointment on different levels and were in need of externally processing it. At this point, financially I was not in the best position. After facing job rejections, I was discouraged and stared at the end of September as the possible end of it all. I was beginning to make my “peace” with that. As we walked around, we shared our hearts and declared the truth. It was refreshing although I could feel in the deepest part of my heart that I wasn’t receiving it. Honestly, I wasn’t sure I could believe anything that we were saying. I’d been convincing myself that God wasn’t for me [which is a total lie. Let’s just laugh at that].

Anyways, we get lost. We get completely twisted up in the ranch. Our beginning was our end was our beginning. 2.5 hours had passed and we were hungry and potentially crossing the line of irritable when we passed a pond-lake of sorts. As we walked, we saw a beautiful white heron. It was stunning with its pristine white feathers and long, elegant neck.  As we neared it, it took off lifting its body into air. It was beautiful to watch. As this white heron flew by, another flew in its direction from the water, its mouth full. I stopped. “I wonder prophetically what white herons stand for?” I asked out loud. My friend began to wonder as well and pulled out her trusty Iphone. As she searched up the meaning of white herons, I sensed they represented prosperity. Holy Spirit totally dropped it in my spirit and I mention it to her. For me, it correlated with seeing the second white heron flying away with its mouth full. As we continue walking trying to find our way, my friend finds an article that states how in ancient Egypt a double-headed white heron represented prosperity. Instantly our mouths dropped and we were blown away. 2.5 hours ago, we were discussing finances. We just saw two white herons. It was a crazy prophetic moment for us. We began to declare into it–prosperity over our finances and relationships.

A symbol of prosperity.
A symbol of prosperity. Photo-cred: Sara Harding

On October 1st, the second installment of tuition was due: a total of at least $1100. I was nowhere near that goal. The weekend I saw the white herons and began to pray into it. On September 30th, my father texts me asking about how my tuition was going. I told him I still needed $2200 (this would pay off all my tuition). A few minutes pass and I receive an email notification letting me know that my tuition was completely paid off. I was in shock and undone. As my heavenly Father moved on my behalf, He moved upon my earthly father. I was completely humbled at the sacrifice my father made as he invested in me. My level of gratitude cannot be expressed in words.

God is seriously faithful. He sees us and knows us. It was not a coincidence that my friend and I came across two white herons. The prophetic moment that unfolded on September 27 has opened the door for radical encounters. As you read this, I just release my testimony to you. I release the revelation that you are seen and known by God. I release favor over you with friends and family. You are seen and known by your intimate circles. You are always, constantly on God’s heart. Your needs are not too big for Him. I declare that what I’ve received you will receive a double portion. You are worth investing in. You are not a mistake. You are purposed and you are called.

Til next time,

D

3 thoughts on “A God Encounter

  1. He wants us to notice Him. He wants to be seen, even remembered. Just when we think we can’t love Him anymore, we do and we can for we cannot help ourselves. He is the joy that fills our hearts and makes them to dance.

Leave a comment