SEE YOU

We create with our words. What are you creating today?”- Beni Johnson

Our words create worlds. A spiritual father of mine spoke this truth and it has stuck with me. What we say about others, about our countries, about anything really has an effect. What I’ve been challenged in lately is the word I’m speaking over myself. What am I saying about me? What world–atmosphere–presence am I fostering when I speak? Am I birthing a reality of doubt–faithlessness–fear in my life? Or am I releasing a world of joy, hope, and destiny?

I was faced with this not too long ago. I was discouraged and getting completely in my feelings one night. I was letting lies trickle into my mind. I remember crying and saying to God, “I want to be seen. I want to be encouraged. Let someone encourage me!!!”  Before I could even begin the down spiral to self-pity [so glad I didn’t that place sucks], I heard God say, nicely but firmly, “how about you see you” (paraphrase). Essentially, why are you waiting on someone else when you have a mouth and can speak just as well? Instead of entertaining the lies, why not speak the truth?

I felt the conviction and the question was raised: how can I expect from others what I don’t do myself?

Self-love is so important. SEEING YOU IS IMPORTANT. We pour into what we believe about ourselves. What we say about ourselves creates the reality from which we live. That night, I refrained from calling my R.O.D. (ride or die) right away and first, spoke over myself. I chose to see me. I declared the truth about myself. The cloud of discouragement that was hovering began to dissipate. I really did feel my heart strengthen. Why?–because, my words in my mouth about me are just as powerful and affective—if not more—as anyone else’s. [<–awesome insight from a friend]. My words fuel my thoughts and my thoughts affect my actions. The moment I began to speak life over myself, when I chose to see me instead of waiting for someone else to, my thoughts were reminded of the truth and thus I began to shift from discouragement to self-appreciation and love.

Now, please understand, it’s so important to have community. It’s seriously AMAZING to be surrounded by people who intentionally see you and protect your heart. It’s a beautiful thing to have a core who call out your gold, challenge, inspire, and motivate you to go higher and be all you were made to be. In that same breath, it’s even more important that YOU see it. It’s crucial that YOU know the truth about yourself and that YOU see YOUR GOLD. So when your core is unable to do it, you can do it and believe it.

So here’s a little exercise!! I challenge you to write out some empowering beliefs about yourself and declare them, even when you are feeling the complete opposite–declare the truth and watch your atmosphere change. This weekend and this coming week, be intentional about SEEING YOU!

Til Next Time,

D

Leave a comment